top of page

Dorothy Sobol

Senior Fellow


Dorothy Meadow Sobol is a non-resident Senior Fellow at the the Foreign Policy Institute of the Johns Hopkins University School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS). Until July 2018, she was a Senior Adjunct Professor of International Economics and Emerging Markets at SAIS, where she oversaw the emerging markets specialization and was a member of the International Development program. She joined SAIS as a professorial lecturer in 1998 and became a Senior Adjunct Professor  in January 2001. In 2001 and 2002, she received the Excellence in Teaching Award.


Until June 2006, Dorothy was a vice president in the Research Department of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York. She joined the Fed in 1978 and held a variety of positions there, including Assistant Secretary, Assistant to the President under Mr. Corrigan, Secretary of the Financial Policy Council, and editor and founder of Current Issues in Economics and Finance. At the Fed she published on such issues as the substitution account, the SDR in private international finance, the role of the IMF in fostering adjustment with growth, the LDC debt crisis, and foreign ownership of U.S. Treasury securities.

Since 2009, she has been a member of the Board of Advisors of the Fletcher School and chaired the Annual Fund from 2006 to 2009. She is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations and the Bretton Woods Committee.  In 2017, she was appointed to the NYU Animal Welfare Committee. She served for many years on the Executive Committee of One to World, a nonprofit affiliated with the Fulbright program dealing with foreign students in the greater New York area. She has also served as a trustee of Friends Seminary, a board member of the Bryn Mawr Club of New York, and a fund raiser for Philips Exeter and Yale University.


Dorothy received her B.A. from Bryn Mawr College and MALD and Ph.D. from the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy at Tufts University. Prior to completing her Ph.D. thesis, she was a financial analyst in the Treasurers Department of the Exxon Corporation. 

bottom of page